Log in

2022 ISSWA Award Recipients

21 Nov 2022 7:15 PM | Deleted user

This year's 2022 ISSWA Award Recipients were recognized at the award ceremony at our 2022 ISSWA Annual Conference for their dedication to serving children, families, schools, and the community. 

School Social Worker of the Year: Vicki Sanders

Vicki is a School Social Worker at Heartland AEA. She is a leader, strong advocate and strives to meet the needs of the student’s and families within Waukee School District. One of her greatest strengths is taking the time to listen to others with an open mind.

Leahgreta Spears Achievement Award: Katy Lee

Katy retired after the 2021-2022 school year after 25 years of dedication to Grant Wood AEA as a School Social Worker. She is a compassionate person, well-respected by others and a true educational partner.

Friend of Children Award: Leslie Timmerman

Leslie has over 30 years of educational experience within Des Moines Public Schools. No matter what role she is in, Leslie always goes out of her way to put students first.

Legislator of the Year Award: David Kerr

Representative Kerr has a distinguished care in the Legislature by his active advocacy for student mental health. He is known for his integrity and refreshingly pragmatic outlook on issues.

Advocate of the Year Award: Dave Epley

Dave is known as “the hardest working man in the Capital”. Dave serves as the House Democratic Caucus staff expert on education and education spending.

ISSWA is a 501©3 non-profit organization. 

Check out ISSWA on Social Media!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software