• Home
  • Award Recipients


ISSWA recognizes two school social workers each year based on nominations received:

Iowa School Social Worker of the Year and Leahgreta Spears Career Achievement Award.



ISSWA also recognizes a non-school social worker each year based on nominations who exemplifies the qualities of a school social worker in a different field: Friend of Children Award.

Congratulations to our 2018 ISSWA Award Recipients:

kEVIN WEST - Iowa School Social Worker of the Year

KELSEY SHEETS - Friend of Children Award

isswa DID NOT GIVE A Leahgreta Spears Career Achievement Award IN 2018 due to not receiving nominations

These well-deserved educators were recognized at the Awards Banquet at our 2018 ISSWA Annual Conference for their dedication to serving home, school & community.  Kevin also was recognized at the Midwest School Social Work Conference in Clayton, MO in October 2018 as the Iowa School Social Worker of the Year.

Right: Photos of the ISSWA 2018 ISSWA Award Recipients

ISSWA is a 501©3 non-profit organization. 

Check out and like our new Facebook page!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software