Annual Award Nominations

01 May 2018 9:02 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

The Iowa School Social Workers' Association (ISSWA) is accepting nominations for our annual awards ceremony. Each year ISSWA recognizes three outstanding individuals for their service to children, families, schools and the educational community. Requirements for each award are described below:

School Social Worker of the Year

ISSWA's School Social Worker of the Year honors a school social worker employed by either an AEA or local school district who exhibits dedication to the school social work profession. This individual will be honored for their work, innovative practice, outstanding achievements, and contributions to school social work through demonstrated leadership and professional participation and community involvement and volunteerism. 

  • School Social Worker of the Year nominees MUST be a current ISSWA member and a current school social worker in the state of Iowa.
  • School Social Worker of the Year MUST have a minimum of two years experience in the field.
  • Strong priority is given to candidates who have been actively involved in ISSWA through the Board or through committee work.


Leahgreta Spears Career Achievement Award

The candidate for the Leahgreta Spears Career Achievement Award may be an ISSWA retiree or a practicing Iowa school social worker who is a member of ISSWA.  Considerations include a progressive career with leadership contributions, patterns of accomplishments, and significant levels of setting examples.


Friend of Children Award

Candidates for the Iowa School Social Workers Friend of Children Award need to have demonstrated outstanding support for the mission of school social work to facilitate the education of all children. Nominees need not be a school social worker. ISSWA members are encouraged to nominate educators or non-educators who have made a significant impact in the lives of a child or students.

To nominate an individual for any award, please write a nomination letter detailing why you believe he/she should be our 2018 award recipient. Letters of support from colleagues (both AEA and LEA) are strongly encouraged. Email nominations to ISSWA Recognition Co-Chairs Jean Boger at or Kim Phillips at by May 15, 2018.

51st Annual Midwest Council Conference to be held in Missouri! Click here for a link to the conference brochure. 51st Annual Midwest Council Conference.pdf

ISSWA is a 501©3 non-profit organization. 

Check out and like our new Facebook page!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software