Log in

Special Legislative Update - House Committee Chairs Named

16 Nov 2022 3:04 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

House of Representatives Sets Committee Chairs

The House GOP has announced their committee chairs for the 23-24 Session of the Iowa Legislature.  

Representative Skyler Wheeler of Sioux County will Chair the Education Committee and Representative Carter Nordman of Panora will lead the House side of the Education Appropriations Subcommittee.

The announcement also includes the formation of a new committee, the Education Reform Committee, which will be Chaired by Speaker Pat Grassley. The announcement noted that the new committee will consider “bills containing significant reforms to our educational system.”

Standing Committees:

Administrative Rules Review

Rep. Megan Jones (R-Sioux Rapids) – Chair


Rep. Mike Sexton (R-Rockwell City) – Chair


Rep. Gary Mohr (R-Bettendorf) – Chair


Rep. Shannon Lundgren (R-Peosta) – Chair

Economic Growth

Rep. Ray Sorensen (R-Greenfield) – Chair


Rep. Skyler Wheeler (R-Hull) – Chair

Education Reform

Rep. Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford) – Chair

*The Education Reform Committee will be a 5-person committee dealing with bills containing significant reforms to our educational system

Environmental Protection

Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour) – Chair

Government Oversight

Rep. Brooke Boden (R-Indianola) – Chair

Human Resources

Rep. Ann Meyer (R-Fort Dodge) – Chair


Rep. Steve Holt (R-Denison) – Chair


Rep. Dave Deyoe (R-Nevada) – Chair

Local Government

Rep. Shannon Latham (R-Sheffield) – Chair

Natural Resources

Rep. Tom Jeneary (R-Le Mars) – Chair

Public Safety

Rep. Phil Thompson (R-Jefferson) – Chair

State Government

Rep. Jane Bloomingdale (R-Northwood) – Chair


Rep. Brian Best (R-Glidden) – Chair

Veterans Affairs

Rep. Chad Ingels (R-Randalia) – Chair

Ways & Means

Rep. Bobby Kaufmann (R-Wilton) – Chair

Appropriations Subcommittees:

Administration and Regulation Appropriations

Rep. Michael Bergan (R-Dorchester) – Chair

Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations

Rep. Norlin Mommsen (R-DeWitt) – Chair

Economic Development Appropriations

Rep. Martin Graber (R-Fort Madison) – Chair

Education Appropriations

Rep. Carter Nordman (R-Panora) – Chair

Health and Human Services Appropriations

Rep. Joel Fry (R-Osceola) – Chair

Justice Systems Appropriations

Rep. Brian Lohse (R-Bondurant) – Chair

Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals Appropriations

Rep. Jacob Bossman (R-Sioux City) – Chair

ISSWA is a 501©3 non-profit organization. 

Check out ISSWA on Social Media!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software